Peeling an apple and hypermobility

2014-03-25 07.39.18

My 3.5 year old loves peeling fruit and vegetables, but isn’t quite there yet when it comes to her technique. We have an OXO Good Grips peeler, I wrote about how much I like the range here, that works quite well for both of us, but half of peeling is holding the piece of fruit and neither of us excel at that.

I don’t do well with gripping and holding things, but I finally discovered that if I bent my wrist just so, and my thumb just so and wedged my hand down onto the counter, despite the muscle cramps, the apple stayed put! Woohoo!

After I successfully peeled one whole slice, my daughter was grinning and bouncing up and down. “Mummy, you did it! You did it! You thought you couldn’t do it, but you did it! Well done Mummy!”, then I got a hug and a high five and dropped the apple.

“Don’t worry, Mummy, we can wash it. You tried, that’s what matters.”

Maybe one day I can afford one of these – an electric automatic peeler. I don’t know if they work but they do look awesome and review well.

 

