He went that way…

cat6I was woken up rather early this morning by the cat. He did the usual cat routine that cats do, with a few slight variations of knocking over water bottles (I’ve given up on winning the argument and have swapped out a bedside water glass for a bottle with a lid). I win. He then moves on to the laptop, sits on it and swipes the external hard drive off the table and proceeds to play with it as it dangles from its USB cable. Bad kitty. I get up, unplug it, put it in a drawer, check his food bowl whilst I’m at it and yes, he does have food. Go back to bed. Cat follows. He climbs onto Chris’ pillow looking all regal and sits there, watching me fall asleep. I used to find being watched disturbing, but now I’m used to it. I fall asleep. As soon as I do, cat nuzzles my face and purrs, I turn my face to the other side. Cat climbs on top, places his paws on my bare back and starts kneading. Ow. I’m awake now. I turn over and sit up, cat goes flying a little. He lands at the bottom of the bed, looks at me and miaows. “He went that way,” I say. He looks at me and miaows. It’s a private joke between us. I’m a big Alice in Wonderland fan and one of my favourite parts is:

Cheshire Cat: Oh, by the way, if you’d really like to know, he went that way.
Alice: Who did?
Cheshire Cat: The White Rabbit.
Alice: He did?
Cheshire Cat: He did what?
Alice: Went that way.
Cheshire Cat: Who did?
Alice: The White Rabbit.
Cheshire Cat: What rabbit?
Alice: But didn’t you just say – I mean – Oh, dear.
Cheshire Cat: Can you stand on your head?
Alice: Oh!

After an hour of being woken up again and again, I throw in the towel and get up. Despite a sleepless night it’s a pretty good day. So I turn on the laptop, pad downstairs, make coffee, carry it back to bed only to find…. sleeping cat on my side of the bed. Typical.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Cat’s are awsome aren’t they ;)

  2. I had a cat in high school that would sit on my chest and stare at me until about time for me to wake up for school then she’d start batting me on the side of the face to wake me up.

    Cats are fantastically interesting creatures…

Comments are closed.

