Everything else is optional

Studio Images 0017Breathing is kind of a necessity. I wish I would get used to not being able to breathe, but I’m not sure I ever will. Asthma attacks can take two days to gradually worsen and although it’s unpleasant, at least its somewhat predictable. Or it can take less than five minutes.

I was fine all afternoon until less than five minutes later, I couldn’t breathe at all and was trying to unwrap my Epi-Pen before I lost consciousness. It’s one of those moments in time when I couldn’t remember the list of things to do, but then the list is short when you can’t breathe, it’s Epi-Pen, wait a minute or two, use inhaler if you can, second injection 15 minutes later.

Hindsight is always 50/50. I still think I did the right thing opting out of dialling 999. My breathing responded well after the shot, I could talk in sentences, I did not respond well to the shot, but then I never do. I fainted, but not for too long and although I was rather confused, lethargic, sleepy and still short of breath (all signs of respiratory acidosis), it felt under control.

Oxygen would speed up feeling better, a nebuliser would make it easier to breathe sooner, but the stress that comes with that package often negate the positive. I have time. I’d rather nap on the couch and recover in the comfort of my own home than be subjected to the ambulance trip to A&E and a bunch of unnecessary tests and a night or two in hospital.

The choice becomes hospital with quick fix or home with slow fix and for now, I’m still most comfortable with option two.

