Comfy pajamas and supersymmetry

I feel guilty for spending the majority of my time on things that I can do rather than on things that I should do. I’m a big believer in things one should do, it’s what makes the world go round. Very little of my time goes toward the stuff that fills most of other people’s time – work, errants, housework, friends and familial commitments, those types of things.

It’s easter weekend and I’m watching an old episode of The West Wing. It’s one of a handful of television shows I own on DVD and can watch repeatedly. The point of entertainment is to be entertaining. And sometimes, it’s just nice hear something said by someone else, and think, yes, that’s exactly it. Josh Lyman at some point goes off on a tangent about superstring theory and although I know very little about quantum gravity, I can’t help being reminded that I like supersymmetric string theory more than Bosonic string theory, it may be because the latter is outdated and the first is still brimming with potential or maybe it’s because I like the words like ‘fermion’ and ‘supersymmetry’.

There’s also another one of my favourite quotes:

C.J. Cregg: You’re pissed at me?
Toby Ziegler: I’m saying, I could’ve used your support in there.
C.J. Cregg: You get my support the same way I get yours: when I agree with what you’re saying or when I don’t care about what you’re saying. This time I disagree.

Sometimes life is about what you do, but more often than not, it’s about who you are.

One thought on “Comfy pajamas and supersymmetry

Comments are closed.