Clicker vs Keybinder

I am more of a keybinder than a clicker courtesy of my beloved N52, but as I rely heavily on mouse-over healing spells, I do my fair share of mouse clicking, but without the clicking. I don’t think that it really makes a difference how well you play. I’m with Cory on this one:

Being good at a game requires the same skills whether you are clicking your abilities or mashing a keyboard, it is just a matter of style. Quality players will have excellent hand eye coordination. They know where their abilities are located, whether on a keyboard or in their on-screen User Interface. Lastly, they understand the intricacies of their character’s abilities and how to gear them appropriately to match their playing style.

Playing WoW is very similar to me than playing the piano. Learning a new piece of music requires in-depth study of the sheetmusic and to play it well, you need to know exactly where each fingers goes at exactly the precise point in time to produce the correct sound. Playing WoW is a complex skill and there are various routes to achieve it. I can’t help wishing that the route was just a little clearer, but it is an interesting journey and I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t enjoy the process.

