Fun, fun, fun

Someone asked me this week what it is about warcraft, and raiding in particular, that I like so much that I can say ‘that was fun, can’t wait ’til next time’ whilst relocating a finger. If you’re a smoker, you might understand when I say that it’s like cigarettes. I am not referring to the addictive properties of nicotine, but to that moment in time that a smoke break creates.

I never really thought of myself as a smoker. A pack of cigarettes would last a month to six in my flat. It bought seven minutes of escape whenever I felt that life couldn’t possibly get better as everything was going so very wrong. I’d put on my favourite music very loudly, pull out the lighter and pack of cigarettes that lived alone in a cupboard I didn’t otherwise open, carry it to my balcony and reset my anxiety metres a little.

Warcraft can be a little bit like that sometimes. I may worry about the frills, but when it’s boss fight time, nothing else in the world exists. I love my druid, I enjoy healing and as I become more familiar with the lore and strategy within the game, the easier it is to relax and just be in the moment. Instance runs are like a very long cigarette break, how could I not like it?

