I adore simple pleasures

wowscrnshot_020309_121128The topic of heroic and normal dungeon runs has reminded me of a scene in The picture of Dorian Gray. I’m intrigued by Oscar Wild and have owned a copy of the novel in various disguises long enough for it to become one of those books I know the exact location of on my shelves and shelves of books. It’s a welcome escape from what I usually immerse myself in even if it’s not a personal favourite. It’s phrases like the following that pulls me in:

“You will have tea, of course, Dorian? And so will you, Harry? Or do you object to such simple pleasures?”
“I adore simple pleasures,” said Lord Henry. “They are the last refuge of the complex. But I don’t like scenes, except on the stage. What absurd fellows you are, both of you! I wonder who it was defined man as a rational animal. It was the most premature definition ever given. Man is many things, but he is not rational. I am glad he is not, after all…”

I adore the simple pleasures too. If you ask me what my favourite moments have been in Warcraft, it’s the little things every time that hooks me. Arriving in Dolanaar for the first time and discovering a post-box. A post-box! Couldn’t believe my eyes. Something so innately ordinary in all this high fantasy. I abandoned my trial account right there and then just so I could use the mail system.

It’s difficult to hold on to those small things when the talk of the day generally center around gear upgrades, badges, damage metres, stats, armory pages and how far you’ve progressed in relation to other players. I try not to get caught up in it. I have no aspiration to greatness. My real life is challenging enough without making the world of warcraft another obligation. I like upgrades as much as everyone else, I want to get better at it and yes, I do spent an inordinate amount of time reading and writing about it. Like in life though, it’s the people that are important whenever I play with other people.

My favourite moments in WoW now include other people. I’ve done two normal level 80 dungeons in a week with unorthodoxed grouping and strategies and it’s some of the best fun I’ve had in-game. There is a definite satisfaction to knowing your role and getting everything just right to down a challenging boss. However, there’s also a unique sense of satisfaction when you heal two DPS death knights and a frostfire mage through the King Ymiron fight when nobody knows what’s coming and the strategy is formed as we go.

I’ve dreaded this place where I am at now and have been approaching it as the bad bit to get through before you get to the good bit. I felt as if I am the only person in the world that hasn’t run all the instances a dozen times and isn’t doing at least the daily heroic quickly every day. I forget that experience isn’t everything. I also forget that you just have to put yourself out there and that when you do, it’s not always a painful experience.

