The Arachnid Quarter (10-man)

On Sunday mornings it feels as if Blizzard has tailored the end-game content for me personally. There’s a slight feeling of guilt as the bloggers, forum posters and sites I follow still hold the overwhelming opinion that it’s all too easy. I remind myself that for once I happen to be in the demographics catered for, so ban the butterflies and gnawing insecurity and live a little vicariously.

The arachnid quarter of Naxx was surprisingly uncomplicated. Anxiety is my personal blind-spot. I hate feeling, looking, acting and talking anxious. I stave off anxiety by gathering information beforehand. My first experience of the Arachnid quarter was watching over Chris’ shoulder during last week’s raid. My second was copious reading. Give me a pop quiz: what nature damage abilities will you see in the arachnid quarter? and I’ll ramble off a list complete with numbers. My third was joining in and getting the achievement.

It was a good run even though it started with me dying in a trash mob fight within the first two minutes of starting. I felt much better after the shaman healer did the same thing on the next trash mob. It was all down hill from there. Two dislocations of the same joint however. The first was a quick fix, but the second required asking for a minute to splint up. My wrists and hands are in a cast today, but I don’t care. I’m sure it will get better. In fact, I look forward to doing it again as soon as possible.

If the raid was not a healer short, I wouldn’t have participated. I would have waited who knows for how long. I’m not sure whether the moral lesson here is: “do your homework well and the test will be a breeze” or “stop over-analyzing and just do it”. Maybe a little bit of both. Or possibly neither. I think I’ve done my bit, but it’s the things beyond my control that made it all possible. Things like the other nine people there. And the possibility on the first raid to ask discreetly for a few minutes to relocate joints. A concession that I am infinitely grateful for, but hope I will no longer require in the coming weeks.

The bosses were easy and uncomplicated. Anub-Rekhan did not present any difficulty other than I got so caught up in the game that I forgot to watch my fingers and dislocated an MPC joint, which resulted in me casting Tranquility about ten seconds into the fight whilst everyone was still basically at full health. An embarrassing experience, but I didn’t need it in the following 4 minutes so no significant impact on the raid. There was even time to pop it back in before the first swarm hit and no breaks were required. Note to self: Regrowth on key 5 is a very bad idea. I moved it after last week’s (or was it the week before that?) dislocation, but moved it back when I kept looking for it and it wasn’t there, but it’s not a viable place for it. Will rebind and go practice casting in PvP until my muscles remember the new binding.

Grand Widow Faerline was easy too. The occasional out of AoE  whilst casting is the most physically demanding aspect of the fight and it’s extremely easy compared to the amount of moving required in PvP. If you can play in a battleground, you have more than enough skill for this.

Maexnna is a very cool spider. The web wrap through me off a little the first time and it’s a little clumsy the first time I click on my minimap and then have to get back into mouseover heals, but once is enough of a learning curve. View point isn’t great as it’s a confined room, but then I stare mostly at health bars, so it’s not a big deal. No big obstacles, just need melee DPS to learn to stand on the right side of the spider so that they stay within healer range.

The spider wing on 10-man was a breeze. I thought it would be hard, but it really wasn’t. I thought I would need to run it multiple times to get it right, but I don’t. Reading up and watching a few clips before going in is enough of a learning curve so that after the first time, I’m pretty relaxed about the second and third. It was a great experience to learn that something I thought would be really difficult turned out to be very easy.

