The blogosphere

It’s easy to feel misunderstood. Everybody does. It’s not so easy to do something about it. The internet does offer plenty of possibilities to feel included and understood. I hear people talk about being on an even keel courtesy of the keyboard and about being able to not be someone with a disability thanks to internet anonymity. I browse my way through plenty of blogs, forums and social sites to see disabled people come to together and find camaraderie and understanding when connecting with like minded people sharing their problems. But knowing that other people are hitting the same obstacles doesn’t make me feel better, in fact, I find it incredibly depressing.

People automatically measure themselves against past performance, predicted future performance and other people’s performance to find the place where they fit in and belong. Going through a particular rough patch health wise at the moment and finding it difficult to remain productive, I do the same. I could choose to focus on the things that other people have done that I can’t do and wallow in my personal sense of failure, or I can find encouragement in what others have to offer. Here’s a few quotes from some of my favourite bloggers that makes me feel a little less misunderstood:

From Kerri, who writes Six until me:

Diabetes is a constantly shifting platform that we’re trying to balance on.  Every day is different, every diabetic is different, and the rules do seem to change every day.

Andrea at Andrea’s Buzzing About: on APD:

I am walking across campus when someone stops me. While I am standing there desperately trying to figure out who this out-of-place person is, they ask me, “Are you going to the four-meter spa?”

I blink with confusion, and then realize that I am scrambling these sounds, so ask for a repeat, but it makes no more sense. Apparently this is an important question, so I ask for a re-phrase, and finally it all clicks: this is Elverta and she is asking me, “Are you going to tutor for me this fall?”

Tiffany at sick girl speaks!:

Live it now because today could be the healthiest day of the rest of your life.

I couldn’t have said it any better. A host of adages spring to mind, but it’s not just attitude that matters, it’s what you do with the time and capabilities you have. I do appreciate my internet access and the unwitting encouragement from bloggers sharing their lives.It reminds why I bother blogging. The world through someone else’s eyes is a small window in a very dark room that looks out onto a much bigger world.

