Librivox

LibriVox is one of those internet gems. Volunteers (and it’s easy to become one) record chapters of books in the public domain and the site distribute these audio books for free.

The site now contains  1806 in their catalogue of completed works and it’s still growing. It’s a great place for classics. I’m looking forward to grabbing a copy of T.S. Elliot’s ‘The Wasteland’ and then maybe move on to Homer’s ‘The Illiad’. There’s a copy of Helen Keller’s ‘The story of my life’ and I think James Joyce’s ‘Ulysses’ in audio format might be the perfect cure for insomnia. Two birds with one stone.

My eyes have also caught a few works of Kant, Plato and Nietchze as well as two H.G. Wells classics. I haven’t used the service yet, but I am keen to get started if I can only make up my mind as to where to start.

